Do You Feel Like This?

Do you feel tired, burned out, wilted, faded, thirsty, weary?

I (unfortunately) neglected my garden yesterday – not good in this Southeast Louisiana 100 degree heat!  This morning, as I went out in the yard to tend to my plants, I thought that they look how I often feel – when I don’t give God the time He asks of me.  When I neglect Him, or take my relationship with Him for granted, I easily get withered, worn out, tired, thirsty – thirsty for the peace that the world cannot give.

Here’s the same bee balm plant, only 15 minutes after watering.Amazing, huh?!  Full of life – totally refreshed in only 15 minutes.  God works in much the same way.  He has so much good stuff to give us, but He’s not going to force it on us.  Fifteen minutes in silence – talking with Him… then listening.  If fifteen can work wonders, can you imagine what 30 or 45 minutes could do?  It’s something to work towards:)

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11:28

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do You Feel Like This?

  1. Clare Ryan says:

    Dana, this was time inspiration! One of our college chaplains was recently exhorting us to TALK more with God. It’s how we get to know anyone else. We should share with Him all the little details as well.

    God bless you!

  2. Beth T. says:

    I so needed this today, Dana. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

