He Will Be Called “John”

Readings for Sunday, June 24, 2012

When they came on the eighth day to circumcise the child,
they were going to call him Zechariah after his father,
but his mother said in reply,
“No. He will be called John.”

Poor Zechariah.  Can’t we all relate to him?  Don’t we often have to learn the hard way?  An angel appeared to him, and yet, he was still unbelieving.  How many times does our doubt/mistrust hurt Our Lord?

There have been many times in my own life that God has worked miracles, or provided signs of reassurance to me…and yet, when the next tough time occurs, I fret.  I look for another sign that He is still in charge – still watching out for me.  The way that I keep from worrying is to immerse myself in prayer.  When I’m feeling stressed, I set a timer, and pray every hour on the hour – laying all at the foot of the cross – again and again.  Ironically, after going through this repetitious act a few times, I begin to feel peace.  I’m a little slow, but alas I get it.

Yesterday’s reading, about having no anxiety…trusting in Him…  As I was reading it, I was sitting in the window, watching the sparrows feed at my bird feeder.  The song replayed in my mind, “His eye is one the sparrow, and I know He watches me…”  A smile crept over my face.

I have my own, “He will be called John,” story:  After having two children – a boy and a girl (seven years apart), most people thought our family was complete – including myself and my husband.  Over time, however, I began to feel a tugging at my heart to have another child.  I knew he would be a boy, and that his name would be John.  Nearly six years later, I became pregnant at the age of 38.  Ultrasounds would later reveal that, in fact, he was a boy (not a surprise to me).  It took some convincing to get my husband to allow me to name him John, as we didn’t have any of those in our family.  As it turned out, (unbeknownst to us), the Sunday that was chosen for John’s baptism, the gospel that was read was about John the Baptist, a voice crying in the desert, “Prepare the Way of the Lord.”  I think that it was at that moment that my husband had his own “Zechariah moment.”  Wow!

God’s ways are mysterious.  God’s ways are perfect.  God loves us all.  He is not a distant Father, but one who is actively involved in each of His children’s lives…if we just get out of His way and allow Him to work. God can be trusted in all things.

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

