Mother Theresa’s Wisdom

For my birthday, I received the Mother Theresa movie.  I’m looking forward to watching it again, as I find her total surrender to God and complete selflessness amazing and inspiring.  I remember when I was young – first learning about what Mother Theresa did on the streets of Calcutta – praying to God about a vocation for me.  In reading Mother Theresa’s books of wisdom, she said that most of us are not called to something so big.  Most of us are called to serve at home – to “bloom where we’re planted,” so to speak.  In fact one of her most famous quotes goes like this, “We cannot all do great things, but we can do small things with great love.”

Another of her quotes that I love is hanging on a plaque in my kitchen “Joy is a net of love by which you catch souls.”  I need to read that often.  Most days, I have no trouble greeting my coworkers, students and strangers with a smile and a kind word, BUT when I come home at the end of a long day, it sometimes takes everything I can muster to smile at my husband or kids.  Sad, but true.

Here’s some of her profound words of wisdom concerning love in the family:

“What can you do to promote world peace? Go home and love your family.”

“Smile at each other. Smile at your wife, smile at your husband, smile at your children, smile at each other- it doesn’t matter who it is- and that will help to grow up in greater love for each other.”

“There is a terrible hunger for love. We all experience that in our lives – the pain and loneliness. We must have the courage to recognize it. The poor you may have right in your own family. Find them. Love them.”

“Love begins at home and it is not how much we do, but how much love we put into that action.”

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, Saints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother Theresa’s Wisdom

  1. SR says:

    Great post! What movie is it, I guess I have never heard of it and where did you get it, if you do not mind telling me. My favorite quote of hers is, “Find your own Calcutta in your home, neighborhood, and in your community. Every place has a Calcutta.” That always stuck with me. God Bless and thanks for sharing. SR

Leave a Reply

