Mistake!

I woke up this morning, and hurried into the day.  Mistake!  I’ve been trying to develop a habit of (more extended) morning prayer & meditation during the summer months since I’m not having to get up for work.  I thought that if I established this habit now, that it might be easier to continue the routine when school is back in session.  Anyway, I had much planned today, and skimmed right over the prayer part, barely giving the good Lord a nod as I busied myself.

Well, the day really unraveled rather quickly into an emotional mess.  As I drove around town making my stops, I prayed.  The negative thoughts and fears kept creeping back.  I then tried some almost frantic positive thinking.  “Thank You, God, for the blue of the sky.  Thank You, God, for being able to breathe easily.  Thank You, God, for reliable transportation…”It did help somewhat.  When I finally returned home, hours later, I put my keys down.  Right next to the keys was my “Magnificat” booklet with the daily mass readings – a reminder of my neglect.  I felt God beckoning me – “Make time for me.  You forgot me this morning.  Come, spend some time with Me.”

This time, I listened to that call within my heart, and I was rewarded.  God is so good.  I sat in the quiet of my room and read the daily readings.  Then I just let the words settle upon me.  Next, I picked up an old favorite booklet, ” Volume Two:  Conversations with The Eucharistic Heart of Jesus as given to Anne a Lay Apostle.”    I read the words, ” I want to draw souls into my Sacred Heart (one of my favorite devotions)…Fear, anxiety, restlessness…do not come from Me…You must bring these things to me.  I will then take them from you and you will be free of them… I want to remove any negative thoughts from you…”

Exactly what I so needed to hear – no “I told you so’s” – just comfort and compassion – reassurance and love.  Amazing love!  God’s generosity is never outdone.  If we will just give Him some time each day, He will lavish us with peace and joy.  And so… I set my alarm clock for 6:00 again.  Will I hit the snooze or hit the scriptures and prayer journal?  Oh, God, help me to be disciplined enough to put You first!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mistake!

  1. SR says:

    You and I shall awake together to spend time with our Lord. Mine is also set. I will let you know if I make it! God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

