Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

“My God, my Savior, I adore Your Sacred Heart, for that heart is the seat and source of all you tenderest human affections for us sinners.  It is the instrument and organ of Your love.”  Blessed John Henry Newman

 

Romans 8:35-39

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?  As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;
 we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”
No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,  neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.If you’d like to see the Sacred Heart cookies my children and I made last summer on this blessed feast day, click on the “faith and children bar.”  Today, to observe the feast, we will make a 20 minute visit to the adoration chapel (that’s about as long as my seven-year old can be still and silent!), and may make a red and white cake for dessert tonight – maybe angel food bundt with cherries.  Stay tuned!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    We didn’t make anything special to celebrate. I am surprised the girls didn’t ask to bake a cake. Usually they can’t wait to celebrate all the feast days with something yummy for dessert. Angel food bundt with cherries? That sounds so delicious. Next year we will definitely make something! Thank you for the ideas.
    with love and prayers

Leave a Reply

