Madagascar

My husband and I took our two youngest kids to see Madagascar 3 today, since it was raining and we were all feeling a bit stir crazy.  I realize that some readers may think that I’m overly cautious – or too sensitive, but I feel I must forewarn parents about a few things.  I usually check the Plugged In website for reviews beforehand, but, regretfully, I did not today.

First off, the previews were pretty dark and scary for small kids.  The little fellow behind us (about age three) was hiding his eyes and crying hysterically.  I will be surprised if my seven-year old does not have bad dreams tonight as a result of the previews.  There were zombies with body parts falling off in one trailer.  In another, Santa, the Easter Bunny, Sandman and Tooth Fairy ban together to preserve the safety of small children who are in danger.  The overall setting was very dark and creepy, and Santa was portrayed as a rough, crude tattoo laden man.  I’m surprised I did not get questions about that from my seven-year old yet.

During the movie, which was admittedly entertaining overall, there were two attacks on the Catholic faith that were offensive.  One character begins praying to Mother Mary in a joking manner.  Not funny!  Another character visits the Vatican, is seen kissing the pope’s ring, and steals the ring in his mouth for monetary and romantic gain.  Some may say that I’m being too sensitive, but I believe that our Faith and our Blessed Mother – were being made fun of.

Just wanted to give anyone who has the same concerns a heads up.  If you do decide to go see it with small children, you may want to have someone save you a seat, so that you can skip the previews.  For children old enough to understand, a discussion about the respect due to Mother Mary and the Pope would certainly be recommended.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Informational, miscellaneous, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Madagascar

  1. Letters to My Spouse says:

    Thanks for the heads up!

  2. Thanks for the review! My kids love the “Penguins of Madagascar” and expressed interest in seeing the movie just to see the “Penguins,” but I kept thinking I needed to check out the reviews. Thanks for posting yours!

Leave a Reply

