God is so good!

I was away for several days, as my computer hard drive died!  Today, I thought, what inspiring or informational thing I could post now that I’m back online?   Hmmm.

This probably doesn’t qualify as a helpful post; however,  I just feel moved to sing the praises of a good God!  This morning I wandered around my backyard, talking to Him, getting ready for a really big day!  I found this amazing spiderweb that seems to have been spun above my Blessed Mother statue overnight.  The beauty of the web – the complexity that came from  such a small, simple creature left me in awe of the Creator.  The attention God paid to details in creating the most minute of organisms is incredible.

I took a trip back “home” around 10 a.m. this morning.  It takes about an hour and 15 minutes to get to this suburb of New Orleans on a regular commute. Luckily, I breezed over in about an hour – with enough time to stop in and say a prayer in a church where I had spent much time, several years ago – the home of my first teaching job in the Archdiocese.  The church was darkened and quiet, yet so welcoming after all these years.  It felt right to be there – to pray and reminisce, if only for a few minutes.

I was so excited.  I had traveled to have lunch with two ladies who I taught with over ten years ago.  We were a great team!  Our luncheon proved to be a wonderful reunion – we talked for two and a half hours – as though no time had passed since our farewells over a decade ago.  These beautiful ladies were such an important part of my life in my early teaching years.  One of them now lives thousands of miles away, so our reunion was a wonderful miracle of sorts.

On the way home I encountered bumper to bumper, creepy crawly traffic on the interstate surrounding the city of New Orleans.   At last the congestion broke up, but was followed by a blinding rainstorm on the Causeway – a 24 mile bridge.  I had to keep reminding myself to breath and to loosen my grip on the steering wheel.  I prayed continuously, and expectantly thanked God for sending His angels to get me home safely.  God is so good.

After dinner with my family, recounting the highlights of our day, I resumed work on a 500 piece puzzle – a lazy summer day pleasure of mine.  I was so happy, I didn’t even care that, upon completion, the puzzle was missing three pieces!!

For a couple of hours this afternoon, I was able to travel back in time -so to speak -and recapture a bit of the joy that comes from being with people who bring out the best in you – people whose smiles are infectious – whose laughter is music to your ears!  Thank you, ladies; and Thank You, God, for being so good to me!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God is so good!

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    Thank you for sharing your happy day. Now I feel happy too!

    God bless

  2. Tena Tell says:

    I also take pictures of spider webs–they intrigue me. What a great way to spend your day.

Leave a Reply

