When Anxiety Gets the Best of You

We all have those times when anxiety seems to get the best of us – whether we are worried about the health of a loved one, a new job, the lack of a job, our children…  Whenever I’m worried about something and am having difficulty surrendering that thing or that person to God, I pray the Infant Jesus Nine Hour Novena.  I think that it was intended to be used in dire circumstances when a person is in desperate need of help – and possibly can’t wait (as bad as that sounds) for the duration of a regular nine-day novena.

I discovered this novena years ago when a neighbor was having brain surgery.   I stumbled upon the prayer, and did a bit of research.  I gave an Infant Jesus prayer card to my friend, before she her operation.  I later learned that she prayed it with family every hour on the hour before her surgery.  We didn’t know if she was going to make it, however, she came through the precarious surgery, and is doing quite well today.

When my husband was out of work following Hurricane Katrina, I daily gave God my worries about unemployment, “took them back,” gave them to God again and so on.  Praying this novena really helped me to Surrender to God’s Will.  I would start the novena in the morning all stressed out, and by the end of the day, after saying the prayers every hour on the hour, I would feel an incredible sense of peace.

Another reason that I recommend the prayer is that my heavenly friend, Padre Pio, whom I greatly respect, would pray this prayer daily for anyone who asked him for prayers.  If it was good enough for Pio, it’s good enough for me!

Next time you’re feeling overwhelmed with worry or stress, invoke the Infant Jesus.  He will tend to your prayers according to the Father’s Will, and give you a blessed, priceless sense of Peace!

O Jesus, Who has said,
ask and you shall receive,
seek and you shall find,
knock and it shall be opened to you,
through the intercession of Mary,
Your Most Holy Mother, I knock,
I seek, I ask that my prayer be granted.
(Make your request)

O Jesus, Who has said,
all that you ask of the Father in My Name,
He will grant you through the intercession of Mary.
Your Most Holy Mother.
I humbly and urgently ask Your Father
in Your Name that my prayer be granted.

(Make your request)

O Jesus, Who has said,
“Heaven and earth shall pass away
but My word shall not pass”,
through the intercession of Mary,
Your Most Holy Mother,
I feel confident that my prayer will be granted.

(Make your request)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When Anxiety Gets the Best of You

  1. Mary Jane Drndak says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more! And a good reminder. An “express – emergency” novena of Bl. Mother Teresa of Calcutta is nine Memoraries in a row. If nothing happens, another nine.

  2. Leanne says:

    I just wanted to say “Thank you for all your wonderful posts.”

  3. Dana, you have no idea how timely this is. Thank you. My parents-in-law were devoted to Padre Pio. You’re right, if it’s good enough for him, it’s good enough for me. Starting right now. God bless and thank you, again.

  4. kimmy says:

    i pray to mother theresa every day i do the novena i just want her to know i love her and praying that every day makes me feel better and since i started praying to her everyday i am not stressed or worried every one should pray to her

Leave a Reply

