Kids Fighting? No Problem!

I cannot take credit for this idea, however, I would like to share it, and use it this summer to the fullest extent of the law this summer!  Thanks D.M.!

As most of my regular readers know, I have three children – all 7 years apart.  This little “strategy” is being implemented at my house to help the two youngest work on the virtue of patience (with one another) and generally treat each other in a more Christ-like manner.  It will also help me keep the house more tidy.  I will be less resentful, for feeling that I do “everything” around the house with little appreciation.  It should be good all around!

Each morning the kids will draw a stick from the (Crystal Light recycled container.)  Notice that the container is deep and opaque, so that the kids cannot see the chore written on the stick. Surprise!!  That will be his/her chore for the day.  I will allow them anytime until 3 p.m. to get it done, however, if a friend calls for a play date, he/she must do the chore before leaving the house.

Here’s the kicker!  Anytime the two begin being unkind to the other, both kids have to pull another chore and perform it immediately.  If the fighting subsides, there are no more chores for the day.  If another war of words breaks out,  a third chore is selected…

So far it has worked beautifully today – DAY 1.  I actually, amazingly overheard them speaking kindly and making an effort to work things out during a disagreement, because neither wanted a second chore.  Yeah!!!

I’ll keep you abreast of the progress!  Hello SUMMER!

 

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kids Fighting? No Problem!

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    Sounds a great idea! What happens to the chores that aren’t chosen? Who gets to do those?

    God bless.

    • danardoyle says:

      Sue, I know you’re way ahead of me on the chore thing. I’m new to it. We are removing the sticks from the container, so that by week’s end, most everything should be done. God Bless you too!!

      • Sue Elvis says:

        Dana,

        I now understand! I thought maybe some sticks would never get chosen. The chore thing? I have more helpers than you. What will I do when they all leave home? Andy and I will have a shock and have to do everything ourselves!

      • danardoyle says:

        Funny! What is the age of your youngest?

  2. Sharon says:

    Ooooo, I like that idea! I might just try that one myself. Right now I have a list of chores on my ipad and every Saturday they each choose two. Problem is the same kids usually choose the same ones. Re. Sue’s reply, I would probably leave the sticks that were chosen out of the container until they’re all gone, and then put them all back & start over. Let us know how it goes! 🙂

  3. Greatest.Idea.Ever. My two little girls, 3 years apart, need some help in working out their problems and I have a feeling this will do the trick!

Leave a Reply

