Memorial Day Questions

I spent a beautiful (though extremely hot) Memorial Day with my husband and two boys picking blueberries at Country Fair Farms in Franklinton.  Afterwards, we went out for snowballs to cool off.  YUM! 

In the car, on the hour drive, we discussed many things – great, quality family time!  We passed a trailer home that was all decked out in American Flags, wreaths, silk red, white and blue flowers.  My oldest said that he didn’t think there were many Americans left who are still willing to die for freedom – to give their life for their country.  He said that our country doesn’t seem to stand for the things that it used to stand for.    He also mentioned that every young person here in America is being fed the mantra – “Look out for number one – It’s all about you, man!”  I then chimed in, I don’t think there are too many people willing to die for our Lord these days either.  For many, God has become a remote concept – even nonexistent to some.  So sad!

There is a saying, “If you don’t stand up for something, you’ll fall for anything.”  Is that what we’ve come to?

I am very thankful for the many young men and women who have fought to preserve freedom, at home and abroad.  I appreciate their personal sacrifices, and the sacrifices of their families.  I am particularly indebted to those who have given their very lives. 

May our nation be guided by the Holy Spirit to come back to its senses – its Christian roots.  I feel so blessed to work in a school where I get to say the pledge of allegiance with a gymnasium filled with other proud Americans.  We say, “One nation under God,” and it often gives me goosebumps!

 

Image

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Faith & Children and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memorial Day Questions

  1. SR says:

    Excellent post!!! Thanks so much for sharing with us your family outing. So much to think about here. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

