God’s Ways are Mysterious!

God’s ways are often mysterious, but they are awesome nonetheless!  There have been many times in my life when I look back and see God’s hand in everything.  He definitely has a plan for each of us.  We either tune in and cooperate with that plan or foil it by getting in the way!

At mass this morning, the gospel was from John – the “Bread of Life” discourse.  As I heard the words proclaimed from the ambo, I nodded to myself – “Yes!  Yes!  You are the Bread of Life, Jesus!  That is precisely why I’m here!”  In his homily, the priest told about a martyr who was born on the feast of the Triumph of the Cross.  Hmmm.  He reminded us that certain events/places were prophetic in Jesus’ life as well.  He was born in Bethlehem which translated means “House of Bread.”  He was laid in a feeding trough in the stable.  Coincidences – probably not!  He would grow up to be the one who gave His life for us, and left us his body in the Eucharist to feed and nourish us and give us grace!

One of the neat things that happened to me (certainly not on a grand scale like Jesus) was that my youngest son was born on the feast of St. Theresa of Avila, patroness of headache sufferers.  I have suffered with migraines frequently for years.  She and I have become tight!  Teresa was also the reformer of the Carmelite order.  We had just lost a beloved family member, a lay Carmelite, when we learned that we were pregnant for John.  Coincidences – I don’t think so!

These awesome little gifts help to bolster our faith and reassure us that God is an ever-present, loving, hands-on Father!  How is He working in your life?

Gospel John 6:44-51

Jesus said to the crowds:
“No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draw him,
and I will raise him on the last day.
It is written in the prophets:

They shall all be taught by God.

Everyone who listens to my Father and learns from him comes to me.
Not that anyone has seen the Father
except the one who is from God;
he has seen the Father.
Amen, amen, I say to you,
whoever believes has eternal life.
I am the bread of life.
Your ancestors ate the manna in the desert, but they died;
this is the bread that comes down from heaven
so that one may eat it and not die.
I am the living bread that came down from heaven;
whoever eats this bread will live forever;
and the bread that I will give
is my Flesh for the life of the world.”

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Blessed Sacrament, eucharist, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Ways are Mysterious!

  1. Lyn says:

    I love to hear stories of God’s fingerprints on our lives. I read a blog post about St. Therese of Lisieux, I immediately felt a connection to her, and prayed her prayer for a special intention. The very next click on my browser was a rose. The next day, my daughter brought home a pamphlet about her, On the first page, it talks about the place she lived as a child, it was called “Le Buisonettes”, translated means the same thing as my last name 🙂 I have felt such a strong connection to this sweet saint, I believe she is praying for us, and that her prayers are accomplishing God’s will for us. This is just one example of our own little miracles to share with yours 🙂 I enjoyed this post so much, thank you.

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you for sharing this! I love St. Therese, too! Yesterday afternoon, I lay down for a rest, and turned on EWTN. There was a program on about St. Therese. Even though I had read a few books about her, I still learned more from the program – like more things that she and I have in common. I am grateful for her intercession in my life!

Leave a Reply

