Spritual Discouragement

Isn’t this angel statue among the roses just gorgeous?  This is located on our school grounds in a courtyard/grotto dedicated to the victims of abortion.

About a week ago, I changed my wallpaper on my computer from spring flowers to this angel.  I’ve been in kind of a funk, mentally and a bit spiritually as well.  Is anyone else suffering in such a way?

I’m sure it’s the devil trying to discourage or distract me.  Burdens that I could normally overlook or tolerate have seemed heavier than usual.  The final straw for me was learning that not one – but both of our priests at our parish are being transferred within 30 days of each other.  The news just seemed to turn my world upside down.

I know that us parishioners are supposed to follow Christ through the guidance of Holy Mother Church, and not a priest – a human being.   Our priests are really awesome, though, and that makes it hard to let them go.  Under their leadership, the masses have taken on such a reverent tone – completely focused on Christ’s presence in the Blessed Sacrament.

I think that our Catholic traditions and liturgy are so beautiful.  I am a traditionalist – I would love to have Latin mass said every so often, and would love to see the return of the Communion rail. It’s so wonderful when one’s personal outlook on religion matches that of their priest(s).  It’s a real blessing!

Society in general right now goes against everything that we hold sacred and dear.  Do you ever feel that we are all alone in this fight?  Do you ever begin to despair that things will never get better?  Usually, the truth that the battle has already been won by Jesus consoles me, but I haven’t been able to wrap my brain around that lately.

The one thing I do know is that we are not in this alone.  God is always with us.  I’ve been blessed that throughout my sadness, I have not been spiritually dry – I have been able to feel God’s presence.  I am so grateful that He has not taken that from me. Let us all pray for hope and consolation despite the darkness of this world – despite our personal losses.  God have mercy on us and grant us Your peace!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Blessed Sacrament, eucharist, faith, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spritual Discouragement

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    The statue of the angel is so beautiful. You really are blessed in where you work.

    I’m so sorry to hear your priests are being transferred. I know we shouldn’t get attached to our priests but we do love them and appreciate the way they bring beauty and meaning to the celebration of the Sacraments.

    I remember when I heard that one of our past parish priests was leaving. I couldn’t believe it. Mass had been such a ‘safe’ and beautiful place to attend because of his humble and caring and obedient attitude. Who would replace him? Would we have to worry about losing our traditional Mass? I thought at the time, “Nothing ever stays the same for very long… except God.”

    We have had our present parish priest for quite some years now and I guess we will have to say goodbye eventually. God will look after us even if things aren’t quite to our liking.

    Alone in the fight? I have just spent a few days at a homeschool camp with dear friends. We were able to listen to the spiritual talks of Fr Joseph who is a Franciscan of the Immaculate. Fr has such a devotion and love for Mary. I came home renewed in my own devotion. Friends to share with, Mary to look after us, God… Dana, we are not alone even though it feels that way at times. I am keeping you in my prayers too. Only a little thing but I do think of you often and pray.

    I’d better stop before I write a blog post in your comments section!

    God bless you my friend!

    • danardoyle says:

      You are so funny, Sue! It is so nice of you to write such a long, thoughtful response. Thank you for the prayers. I am feeling better already. I am so fortunate to work at such a beautiful place. It makes going to work a joy. I am so happy that you got to go to a conference that helped you to feel spiritually renewed! What an awesome experience! God’s blessings to you and to yours!

Leave a Reply

