Insidious

After work today, I laid down to rest, and channel surf.  Out of curiosity, I stopped on the Dr. Oz show.  His panel of “expert medical professionals” was telling about all of the studies that backup their claims that taking the birth control pill is good for you.  According to them, the pill can decrease your chances of getting three types of cancer.  For shock value, Dr. Oz showed a real uterus, ovary and colon completely diseased by cancer.  The samples were disgusting.

When Dr. Oz asked about the new long-lasting birth control pills that actually prevent a woman from having a menstrual period altogether, one of the doctors on the panel said that there is no harm whatsoever in a woman of child-bearing age not having a period for years.  I find that really hard to believe.  It’s completely unnatural!

At the end of the segment, Dr. Oz actually recommended that women consider taking the pill for five consecutive years for the health benefits.  All I could think of was all of the women across the country watching and buying the advice – hook, line and sinker!  No more nasty periods to worry about!  No fear of pregnancy!  Cancer protection!  Wow!

One word comes to mind – INSIDIOUS!  Never have I felt more sure that the devil is actively trying to bring down society by attacking the heart of a family – woman.  Why is pregnancy seen as a disease – something to be avoided AT ALL COST – like cancer?  Why is fertility seen as a weakness or a curse?

I’ll be honest – I started out my marriage believing the birth control hype – that it was the responsible thing to do – that it was a human invention which brought freedom.  I’ve come to believe that (imagine this) the Church actually knows what it is talking about in teaching that sexual relations in marriage must be FREE, TOTAL, FRUITFUL and FAITHFUL in order to bring true happiness – true freedom.  We can do things our way, or God’s way.  It has been my experience that God’s way is infinitely better!  It may not be easier, but it is better for our eternal well-being, and best of all – His way always provides a deep, PRICELESS sense of Peace!

I have been teaching Pope John Paul II’s Theology of the Body to my middle schoolers.  It is beautiful and so, so wise.  It is completely counter cultural.  Everything our society teaches us about love and sex is a lie.  We can reclaim love, as God intended it to be.  We can live the magnificence and the fulfillment of his plan for marriage.  In upcoming posts, I will attempt to give a summary of this “Theology of the Body,” a beautiful blueprint for love and life.  I hope that these posts will compel you to investigate it for yourself, if you have not already been introduced.

Lord, save us from ourselves!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in pro life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Insidious

  1. I usually respect Dr. Oz for his health advice…this is one time I won’t respect it. Thanks for the heads up, Dana…

Leave a Reply

