I Surrender!

“Whatever sends us running to Him, makes us embrace Him, causes us to depend on Him, is the best good in our lives.”  Gloria Gaither

One word keeps coming to my mind today – Surrender!  I’ve had a lot of responsibilities and a lot on my mind lately.  I often feel pulled in many different directions.  Don’t we all?  To add to the mental fog, I have a cold that has taken the spring right out of my step!

I ate lunch rather quickly at school today, and walked pointedly back to my classroom, ready to tackle the next project on my long “To Do” list.  Winded, I sat at my desk, and for a moment, in the quiet of the empty room, I laid my head down.  I yearned for a blanket and a nap so badly. It was only noon, and I was exhausted.

Then, it popped into my head – a beckoning – I felt compelled to get up and drag my body about 100 paces over to the adoration chapel.  Inside, I found a regular visitor, an elderly man – hard of hearing – who says all of his prayers out loud.  Most of the time, when this troubadour for Jesus is there, I am very distracted by his audible pleas.  Today, a peace washed over me.  I heard his mumblings, but they did not aggravate me at all.

I laid all my concerns there at the feet of Jesus. I didn’t even list my worries as I usually do – making certain not to leave anything out.  I just told Jesus, “I surrender.  I give it all to You.  Do with me what You will.” I sat with Jesus as I would with a dear friend with whom I am most comfortable.  That 20 minutes was such a remarkable, tangible gift.  I went back to teach my last class of the day mentally and spiritually refreshed and burden free.

How I wish that I could live in a constant state of Surrender.  I know that anything God allows to happen to me is for the benefit of my soul – my eternal life.  Why in the world would I want to avoid anything that would draw me helplessly to Him?

Surrender.  SURRENDER.  Not like this:

But like this:

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in adoration, faith, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

