Reflection on Sunday’s Gospel, Feb. 26, 2012

Gospel Mk 1:12-15

The Spirit drove Jesus out into the desert,
and he remained in the desert for forty days,
tempted by Satan.
He was among wild beasts,
and the angels ministered to him.

After John had been arrested,
Jesus came to Galilee proclaiming the gospel of God:
“This is the time of fulfillment.
The kingdom of God is at hand.
Repent, and believe in the gospel.”

I so admire the strength of Jesus.  I know that He is God!  Still the thought of going out into the desert, fasting, experiencing intense temptation, and being triumphant over it all is remarkable.  You know, Jesus could have been victorious over the devil without the help of the angels ministering to Him.  He did not have to fast in order to “win.”  Why the desert?

I think that Jesus, just as in His baptism, was showing us the way – modeling the way to holiness – the way to beating temptation in our own lives.  He shows us that time alone with God – away from the trappings and noise of the world is important.  He shows us that fasting and denying our bodies can help us grow in spiritual fortitude!  These are both great lessons for us to apply during lent.

I’m also intrigued by the length of time noted as 40 days.  Forty is used so many times in the bible – the 40 days and nights it rained when Noah was on the ark; Moses went up the mountain and stayed for forty days and nights when he received the commandments; the Israelites wandered in the desert for forty years before entering the promised land; Jonah warned the Ninevites that God would destroy their city in 40 days if they did not repent and so on.  I read somewhere – and I thought this was interesting to note – that anytime the number 40 is mentioned in the bible, it refers to a period of trial, followed by a time of restoration.

Let us pray that at the end of this period of trial in our lives, that God will restore us  threefold – spiritually, mentally, and physically!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reflection on Sunday’s Gospel, Feb. 26, 2012

  1. Dhorget T. Alba says:

    Hi I’am a mother of 2, ages 7 and 5. i have a husband but we are not officially or legal yet. But with the helps of this website and the words of God, me and my husband to put our relationship with God by marriage. I know that God will be more happy if we will do this and for both of us as well. I like this website so much because it helps to understand the wisdom of God.Our relationship had encounter a trial that I almost wanted to end our relationship but I pray and God answer and he lead me a way to him to understand and give considerations. He let my heart be opened and not put a limit on it. God let me understand the meaning of forgiveness and now I’am happy because I was able to make my relationship with God more meaningful. In addition to that, me and my husband is more strong and I’am helping him as well to know God and and his wisdom. Thank for this website, it is really a best tool for recovery and understanding how God love us so much.

    • danardoyle says:

      I am so touched by what you have said. I believe that God works in mysterious ways! I will certainly add you to my daily prayer list. May God bless you! I wish you God’s peace, love and true joy!

  2. Leanne says:

    Great post. My daughter found your blog looking for last Sunday’s gospel. It was nice to startup day finding this post open on my iPhone. I will be stopping by in the future. Thanks,
    Lianne

Leave a Reply

