Help for Addictions

All of the media attention over the death of Whitney Houston has gotten me thinking.  We’ve probably been praying for her, but what about the nameless, faceless people who die everyday at the hand of drug and alcohol addictions?  Addiction is such a dreadful disease!

If I didn’t have my faith (and I’m not saying that people suffering from addictions don’t have faith), I’d drink too!  This life is tough – really tough – sometimes nearly unbearable!  I think that one of the reasons why AA and NA work is the faith component to the program – that and the support of others struggling with the same issues.

Did you know that St. Maximillian Kolbe is the patron of those suffering from addictions?  He was a priest who got sent to the Nazi concentration camps.  On one occasion, the Nazi guards rounded up a group of men.  Several were going to be killed as retribution for a prison escapee – to make a statement.  One of the men chosen to die was a young father.  Maximillian Kolbe, stepped forward and asked the guard if he could take the young father’s place.  His request was granted, and the father’s life was spared.

Kolbe was sentenced to solitary confinement and starvation.  After two weeks, perhaps because his body was accustomed to fasting, Kolbe was still not dead, so a prison guard gave him an injection of carbolic acid to “finish him off.”   Clearly, he was a courageous and devout man.  We can ask his prayers for ourselves, or those we love suffering from addictions!  St. Maximillian Kolbe, pray for us!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Informational, Prayer, Saints and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

