Counting my Blessings

As I sit here, getting ready to say my prayers and turn in for the night, I’m glancing down at the little fellow asleep on a pallet on the floor beside the bed.  Immediately, my eyes are drawn to the sight of his pulse moving the skin and muscles around his carotid artery vigorously.  I think what a miracle he is!  What a blessing to be gazing upon my sleeping child.

Awhile ago, before going to bed, he asked why he didn’t have his own room like everyone else at school.  I gulped.  (I’m not trying to sound like a martyr here!)  I said to him, “God wanted to send you to us.  I knew you’d be such a gift that I couldn’t refuse God’s gift.  I told God, ‘Yes.’  Please send us that baby,” even though we didn’t have any more bedrooms.  Then I asked him if he knew how much he was loved?  He said, “Yes.”

That’s really what it is all about, right?  Entire families used to sleep single room log cabins.  Kids used to share rooms all the time! Why have we gotten so spoiled?

It just so happens that it doesn’t work to have a twenty year old, or a thirteen year old girl share a room with little brother right now.  It won’t be forever.  As long as we all feel as though we belong in a family, that we are important – that we are loved – Isn’t that what it’s all about?  I’ll answer my own question- “Yes.”

Tonight, I’m counting my blessings!  This precious little man is surely one of them!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

