He Picked Me!

At mass this morning, our priest gave a homily that brought tears to my eyes.  He helped me to see today’s gospel in a way that I had never seen it before – from Matthew’s perspective.

Mark 2: 13-17

He began by talking about grade school, and how for playground games, team captains are chosen (or choose themselves)!  They then proceed to choose all of their friends and real athletes for their teams.  Everyone knows their roles and places, and some poor kid is always last.  Fr. and I were one of those “last” kids chosen without fail.

Then he talks about Matthew, and how he was considered lower than low because he was a tax collector.  No one liked him.  Then Jesus came through town ( The King – the team captain) and He selected Matthew first!  Imagine Matthew (and everyone’s) surprise!

Jesus chose Matthew, and He chose me!   All those years I wanted to be chosen second, or third or even fourth.  Last was just humiliation!  It doesn’t matter though, because the ultimate team captain has picked me – and you!  That’s awesome!  Now to  go “fishing for men!”  That sounded bad!  You know what I mean!

Have a good night!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, faith, Inspirational, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He Picked Me!

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    This is such an uplifting story. As a child, I was always picked last too. I sometimes sit and ponder how I came to be where I am. The only answer is God chose me as well. Now isn’t that something to be very thankful for? I think I will have a little cry too.

  2. littlesoul2 says:

    I too was always picked last. I was such a shy little girl that people overlooked me, and it hurt. But I spent lots of time with books, and I learned how to enjoy being alone and I loved to just go off and “think.”

    Now that I’m much older, I often think it’s a blessing not to be among those who are sought after by others…the popular people. I enjoy spending time with people one on one, and really getting to know them. I think that it’s a gift not to be showered with attention by others, but rather to spend some time in silence and solitude, with the One Who has known rejection too.

Leave a Reply

