Fishers of Men

This week is “Vocations Awareness Week.”

There is a fantastic video on the USCCB website called “Fishers of Men.”  I’m re-posting it from January of last year for you to view.  It is a high-tech, moving invitation to young men to consider a vocation to the priesthood.  The stirring music, short powerful interviews and dramatic ending story really keep the viewer’s attention.  My seventh graders enjoyed it – both boys and girls.

I think that the best thing we can do as parents to encourage our children to listen to God’s call is to change the age-old question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” to “How do you think God wants you to use the gifts and talents He has given you?”  Just a small shift in perspective could make a huge difference.  Children need to know that we are ALL called to be holy as God is holy.   We are called to become holy through whatever state in life God calls us to serve – be it the married life, single life, or the religious life.

Another thing that we can do to encourage religious vocations is to pray as a family.  We can pray daily for an increase in religious vocations to the priesthood and religious life – and that married people will have the grace to live their vocation faithfully as well! Lastly, we should pray with our children for our priests on a regular basis.  This will assist our priests in living out their vocation according to God’s call, and increase respect for the holy priesthood instituted by Christ.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, Faith & Children, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

