No Coincidences With God

Just a couple of thoughts as we enjoy our last few hours of the weekend and head off into the next work week-

I had heard this before, but someone refreshed my memory today, and it reminded me of how amazing and complex God really is.  Bethlehem means “house of bread.”  Jesus was born in Bethlehem, and laid in a manger – otherwise known as a feeding trough.  He was later to become the Bread of Life.  He continues to feed us through His body and blood in the Eucharist.  There are absolutely no coincidences with God.  He’s into details. Jesus being born in Bethlehem and having no bed but a manger was probably all orchestrated – important. The more I learn about God, the more I am amazed!

I’ve heard it said that, in our own lives, we only see the messy side of the needlepoint image that God is creating – the one with all of the threads and knots.  But, when we get to heaven, we will see the reverse side, and think, “Oh!  So that’s what you were doing!  It will be beautiful – beyond our wildest imaginations!”

This morning, my daughter and I had an argument.  We went off to church a bit aggravated with each other.  We sat behind a family with twin girls – around age six.   One of the twins was healthy.  The other, just as beautiful, has some kind of neurological disorder.  She couldn’t speak understandably, her walking was very awkward – she had to be assisted.  Her little hands moved uncontrollably.  Every now and then, she’d take her mom’s face in her two shaky hands and stare up into her eyes as though pleading to be understood – wishing mom could read her mind.  The child brought both a smile to my face and tears to my eyes.  Suddenly, the spat I had with my daughter was unimportant – insignificant!  My daughter and sons are healthy.  I cannot take one day of this gift for granted.  Seeing this young lady struggle put things into proper perspective.

As we head into the work week with a small sense of dread, let us count our blessings.  I’m thanking God that I have a job.  So many are unemployed presently.  I am able-bodied.  I am blessed to be able to work.  My family is healthy.  I have so much to be thankful for!  Praise God!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Blessed Sacrament, Christmas, eucharist, faith, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Coincidences With God

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Thank you for this post, Dana. I’ve been feeling a bit sorry for myself the last few days over something I now know is very unimportant.

    God bless!

Leave a Reply

