A Moment of Indulgence

I know that you don’t tune in to hear me complain.  I do want my posts to be uplifting.  I wonder if you would indulge me today.

I am so genuinely aggravated with the whole television/internet carrier scam – you basically have to change providers every two years or so, because they really jack up the price as soon as your initial contract ends.   I recently changed to another cable/internet/phone carrier “to save some money-”  RIGHT!  The whole experience has been a major pain in the butt!

When the new equipment was installed, the workers were missing one critical piece of equipment, and another piece only worked partially.  Then they told me that someone else would have to come another day to install the phone.

Meanwhile, the internet started to go on the fritz!   The lack of reliability with the previous internet carrier was a main reason we decided to switch companies.  I battled with that for a few days.

My eldest son met the men for the phone installation today.  He texted me, “Bad news about the phones – tell you when you get home.”  GREAT!  When I got home, he told me that the phones were working, but that they could not be set up in the locations where they were previously stationed.

I now have three wires, a receiver, an answering machine and some kind of box with blinking lights on my bedroom dresser!  There is a tangle of wires cascading from the side.  BEAUTIFUL!

Prior to dinner, the internet went out all together.  YEAH!  I spent 45 minutes with a tech on the phone trying to troubleshoot.  FUN!  She advised me to go purchase a new router!  SUPER!  My great idea to save us some money, actually cost me money, left a mess of my bedroom, and may cost me a 1/2 day of work to get it all squared away.???

Did I mention that the Basic/Expanded (no movie channels) package – to my surprise – did not include Nick Jr?  I guess it is a terrible reflection on me, but when my youngest discovered that Nick Jr. was gone, he grieved, as though he had lost a loved one.  He wanted “the good old days.”  He wanted “things the way they used to be.”  He sobbed quietly in my arms.   I felt like a heel!

I’m about ready to put the doggone television (and phones for that matter) out on the curb for the trash man!  I don’t think we’d be missing much anyway!

Thanks for listening!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Moment of Indulgence

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your technical problems. Changing providers can be a nightmare at times. I hope all is sorted soon. Praying for you.

    God bless.

  2. maggie says:

    Our services have been terrible lately. Makes me so frustrated when I’m in the middle of watching a streaming TV show and the internet cuts out. We upgraded our cable for just this month so we could watch my husband’s alma mater play (and win!) their bowl game, but soon we will be drastically downgrading and probably switching providers.

    Hope your issues get fixed real soon!

    • danardoyle says:

      We’re still not resolved, but things are manageable at the moment. Oh what fun! In the grand scheme of life however, really insignificant! I’m trying to think of it that way!

Leave a Reply

