New Year’s Resolutions

I’ve never been one to make New Year’s Resolutions.  I’ve tried it a couple of times, but failed miserably.  I don’t like to fail miserably, soooo, I learned not to make NY resolutions.  Smart, huh?

You may not know this about me, but I’m not very self disciplined.  I’m ashamed to say it.  I’m more of a “creative spirit” – “follow your heart” kind of girl.  I am motivated by certain things, but I am not self disciplined.  I’ve started many an exercise regime, but failed to follow through, because the first time I felt tired at the end of a work day (which is most of the time), I’d throw in the towel.  I can’t overcome my feelings to just get out there and do it!

When I pass a dish of chocolate, I seldom tell myself, “No.”  I indulge because I feel like it.  When I have a task that I particularly hate, I will put it off as long as I can, rather than just “getting it over with.”  Sad, but true.

I’ve been inspired by other people posting their resolutions.  In the interest of trying to become a better person, I’m going to give New Year’s Resolutions the old college try once again.  Here goes:

In 2012, I resolve to:

*Build my life around prayer, instead of building prayer around my busy life

*Be more attentive to my husband

*Play more with my children

*Pray with my children more – teach them to be thankful to God for His many blessings

*Have a place for certain important items – and put those items back where they belong so that I don’t waste so much time hunting for “lost” things

*try to shop more carefully (budget wise)

There you have it!  My list for 2012.  I could go on and on with things that I need to improve, but I think I better stick with a small list.  If I set my hopes too high, I’m sure to disappoint myself:(  What are you resolving to do in 2012?

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, miscellaneous, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Clare R says:

    Those are great! I’m learning that resolving to do the most important things, like the things you listed, is the best plan of action. If I can do those, the others seem to naturally follow.

    God bless your New Year!

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    You didn’t mention exercise. You could join me and become a runner! I am finding that it is easier to exercise if I make it the first activity of the day. I roll out of bed, get ready and go straight off to the park. Having fellow runners to encourage me helps enormously too. Perhaps you could exercise as a family too.

    I think I could do with adopting all your resolutions.

    Happy New Year!

  3. Dana says:

    Dana, i love your resolutions, they are similar to what I want to work on also, it is so easy to get caught up in the world, good luck and prayers for your journey.

Leave a Reply

