Ahhhh!

I am so excited!  The proof of my first book, “God Messaging…” came by UPS this morning – a day early!  I am thrilled with the cover, but there was a big surprise on the inside.  Take a look!

Wait for it!  Wait for it!

Wait for it!

Uuugh!  What in the world??  Black pages???  Could it be just funky and novel enough to peek interest, or is it just plain weird?  Oddly enough, the white words on the black pages do seem easy to read.  Please tell me what you think!  Should I have it changed to the conventional??

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Book Review, evangelization, faith, Faith & Children, Inspirational and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ahhhh!

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I’ve never seen a book with black pages and white words (except for books with lots of pictures and different effects). Was it a printer’s mistake? Surely it would cost more to produce such books? If it’s easy to read, yes! make an advertising feature of it. Did it happen for a reason? You are good at noticing signs and seeing the hand of God!! I have a Kindle edition. Wish I could see the paperback version.

    I hope your book sells well.
    God bless!

  2. Beth T. says:

    Dana,
    Wow! What an accomplishment! I cannot wait to read it.

    Here is my two-cents…Whenever I look at a webpage with white writing on a black background it strains my eyes and I get a headache. Not sure if a book would cause the same result, but thought it was worth mentioning.

    Congratulations!!!
    Beth

    • danardoyle says:

      That’s what my “graphic design” (major) son said. Perhaps they made it black on purpose – to distinguish it from a “real” copy. I had just never seen anything like it before! I appreciate the feedback. I hope to have it available within a week or two on Amazon. You’re so sweet to follow my posts!

  3. danardoyle says:

    Sue, It hit me later on today. Maybe the pages are black because it is a proof copy – to distinguish it from a “real” copy.

  4. Hello Dana. None of the Create Space proofs of my books were white on black pages. This is obviously a mistake. I would call Create Space and talk to them. They will send you a new proof.

  5. I forgot to say that I like the cover (although I can only see the mirror version of it…)

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you! I love the template -so much better than my first try! I was bummed that I couldn’t use the image that my son designed. It was a silhouette image of Jesus with a crown of thorns with a cross for the + sign (“add as a friend”). The website said that the resolution wasn’t good enough. That’s o.k., I assured Joseph that there would be other projects that he could help me with in the future – when he has the equipment he needs on his computer here – not just at school. Those computer art programs are expensive!

  6. Tena Belsom says:

    Congratulations… I know how long and hard you worked on this. I like the new cover too. I especially love John’s face in the last pic!

  7. Reblogged this on realmofmiracles and commented:
    Congrats! You never told me your book was published. Did you find a publisher or self publish? This is exciting!! My book is in the hand of a publisher right now and I am waiting on approval from some quotes so it can fianlly be published. Can I still down load it for free? I got a kindle for Christmas but didn’t have it set up when you posted a free version. Let me know. I can’t wait to read it! Good luck with marketing it. I know it will be succesful. :)

    • danardoyle says:

      I self published – advice from another self published author who I respect and is doing quite well. I received a proof – looked great – but had black pages!!! I’m waiting on another, hopefully corrected copy, before it goes “live” on Amazon. I will have another promotion day when you can download free on Kindle. I’m waiting for the paperback to be finished. I am so excited for you as well! Please let me know when yours is finished. I would love to read it!

  8. Brooke Murden says:

    I love the picture sequence! So funny!

    And I liked the black pages.

Leave a Reply

