Whew!

It’s a beautiful day in the deep South – finally.  After a week of unseasonably warm temperatures, grey clouds and miserable rain, the sun has finally broken through.  The sparrows and finches are on the feeder.  The sun’s rays are casting shadows on my avocado tree leaves which are gently swaying in the breeze.  Did I mention that my kids are still sleeping?  Shhh!

A moment ago, I stepped outside with my little black dog in my arms to wave goodbye to my husband who was leaving for work.  Normally, when I am working, he sees me off.  It was nice to do this for him for a change.  As I stood on the front porch, I could see a cloud of condensation emanating from my mouth, just warmed by delicious coffee.  It’s in the 40’s here this Tuesday morning in Louisiana – finally Christmas weather!

I feel ashamed to admit this, but yesterday, I felt the most wonderful lightness of spirit – the way that I imagine one is supposed to feel on Christmas Day – in the joy that the Savior has arrived.  Instead, I felt this bathing in peace – a lightning of a load when Christmas Day had passed.   From my Christian upbringing, I know that Christmas isn’t just one day – though the radio stations stopped playing Christmas music on midnight on Sunday!  It is a season.  It can also be a state of mind, that with God’s grace, can last all year long.

This morning, as I padded half awake over to the coffee pot, I also grabbed a pencil and tablet.  I have one week to get my house in order and to get mentally prepared to return to work.  I know that it doesn’t matter how much I organize, my home will still be far from perfect.  I also know that no matter how much I “mentally” prepare to go back to work, I will still be in a major funk come the day after New Years.  I love my work!  I really do…but I also love this slower pace of life I’m experiencing this morning – what a gift!

There is so much I want to write about in the coming year.  I consider myself a “writer” though I have sold very little of my work, because it is how I express myself   ( I think) best.  I feel compelled to write, just as an artist feels compelled to paint or to draw, or a photographer feels driven to capture an image.  In fact, sometimes I feel frustrated.  My first responsibility is to my husband and children, then comes work.  That often leaves very little time for me to do what I enjoy the most – expressing myself in words.  Surely, there must be a way to satisfy all??!!

Well, my little man has just awakened and is looking for company!  I think I’ll go enjoy rocking his little seven-year old body in the rocker while I’m still able to hold him.  Before long, he will be big enough to hold me!  Enjoy the blessings that continue to flow from Jesus this Christmas SEASON!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Christmas, Faith & Children, miscellaneous, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whew!

  1. Arafea says:

    This is such a nice post! It reminds me of the way it’s felt around here lately, finally my family and I (minus my Dad, who has to work) can literally do just nothing for a while and really take a break. I understand your pain, as far as the writing is concerned. I will pray for you! May your family have a blessed Christmas season; thank you for adding me to your blogroll!

    God Bless!

Leave a Reply

