Prepare the Way

We’ve finished all of our shopping, baked the cupcakes to celebrate Jesus’ birthday, mailed all of our cards, been to confession, wrapped all of the presents…Today preparing the way will involve cleaning the house, so that we may enjoy it – fresh and inviting – for Christmas Eve and Christmas morning.

I also plan to spend it with a bit more reflection.  I’m going to try to get my children (and husband) to pray the hourly Infant Jesus novena with me.  When I pray this, I set a timer, and stop what I am doing every hour on the hour.  It is amazing how quickly the hours fly – and more importantly how hourly prayer keeps one’s eyes and heart focused on Jesus, the Lord – heavenly things.  I may also take the kids to the adoration chapel for a short visit – all in an effort to keep the true meaning of Christmas in our hearts as the excitement of presents mounts!  I would love to know how your families are preparing for the big day!

I came across this beautiful 8 1/2 minute advent meditation on you tube.  It’s a perfect centering pause amidst the busy preparations.  Enjoy this mini retreat!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in advent, faith, Inspirational, meditations, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

