Our Lady of Guadalupe Celebration

Last Saturday night, at St. Joseph’s Abbey in Covington, we attended the most beautiful celebration of Our Lady of Guadalupe whose feast we celebrated on December 12th.  It began with a reenactment of Juan Diego’s apparitions of the Virgin Mary on Tepuyac Hill near Mexico City in the 1500’s.  The play was put on in Spanish by the Hispanic seminarians and monks at the Abbey.  Their were English subtitles projected in a Powerpoint to the side of the stage.

After the reenactment, we filed out of the auditorium and followed a candlelight procession around the foggy grounds of the monastery further lit by a full moon.  We prayed a bilingual rosary, alternating English and Spanish decades and singing traditional songs to Mother Mary in Spanish.  I was so proud of my seven-year old who did not complain once, and participated fairly well, considering that this was all taking place between 9 and 11 p.m.

The evening ended with (what I heard) was a very solemn and moving mass.  By 11 p.m. my little one was ready for bed, so we scooted out after the rosary.

Though I have no Spanish ancestors to my knowledge, I have developed a devotion to Mary, especially in this image.  I will share a chapter of my “spiritual memoir,”  God Messaging…Will You Accept the Friend Request, in upcoming days.  I hope you enjoy my Guadalupe story and these pictures.

For those who may not know the miraculous story of Juan Diego’s tilma, click on these links:  Scientists examine the tilma.  The Story of Juan Diego and Our Lady of Guadalupe.      It is an amazing story sure to fan the flames of your faith!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, Faith & Children, photo entry, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

