Have Hope

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune–without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

by Emily Dickinson

(This clip is great – one “bad word in it though- sh** – Don’t open and play it with children on your lap!)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Have Hope

  1. I love this poem, Dana, and I liked Shawshank Redemption too…thanks for posting…

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    I love Emily Dickinson’s poems! She often says so much with so few words. Thanks for sharing this one, Dana.

  3. Rita says:

    Hello there, I do believe your blog may be having browser compatibility problems.
    When I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however,
    if opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent site!

  4. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Cheers!

  5. Whats up this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have
    to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

