Why Must the Good Suffer?

I’m blessed to have met several young couples in our community who are truly living their Catholic faith.  These are married people in their twenties and early thirties who fully embrace all that comes from Christ through the Magisterium of the Church.  They are trying to live holy, prayerful lives, and to raise their children in wholesome, faith-filled environments as well.

Many of these young couples are struggling financially.  Why has society made it so that mothers and fathers must go to work to feed her little ones and leave them with a stranger for childcare?  If mothers and fathers do in their hearts what they know is best for their children, this puts them in a financially precarious position – with basic necessities at risk.

It’s one of the many things that’s wrong with our world today.  I’m certain that Jesus weeps with such parents.  This is not the way that God intended it to be.  So many things are not the way the Father intended them to be.  We live in a world corrupted by sin.

So you may ask, “Why must the good suffer?” It’s not fair.  Jesus was God’s beloved Son.  For our salvation, He entered the world in poverty, was the subject of ridicule and humiliation throughout His ministry, then finally suffered a horrific death.  If Jesus wasn’t above suffering, and God loved Him completely – perfectly – then why do we feel we should be exempt?

I do know that God allows suffering, and even great trials for a time, to test and to strengthen our faith.  He uses these hard times to draw us closer to Him – to help us to grow in holiness.   He sometimes turns our trials into “testimonies” of His faithful Love to draw others closer to Him – if we will allow Him to use us in that way.

Life surely isn’t easy!  If it were, I guess we would not long for heaven.  Personally, some of my most awe charged moments are times of deep prayer – longing for that full communion with God that I will only experience (hopefully) in heaven.  Hard times definitely keep me on my knees – which spiritually speaking – is the best place for me to be – even though I sometimes (quite humanly) resist.

Recently, I was anxious over a number of things.  I marched right into the adoration chapel, and started to rattle off my laundry list to Jesus.  Something made me stop myself right smack in the middle of that rant.  I then prayed, “Your will be done in all things, Lord.  Your will be done.” I left with peace – a gift far better than those things I was asking God to “fix.”

God loves us so much that we can’t even begin to comprehend it!  Everything that He gives us or allows is for our best interest.  He will not give us a snake when we ask for bread.  If only we could just let go!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Faith & Children, Inspirational, Marriage, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Must the Good Suffer?

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I am very blessed. I’ve always been able to stay home with our children. Perhaps I don’t thank God enough for that. I may not appreciate this gift enough. So I haven’t suffered in this way, worrying about having enough money to feed our children. We have suffered however! And that is a gift too. Like you said, suffering keeps us close to God. It makes us realise we can’t survive without HIm. And there is joy amid the pain!

    Thank you for your post!

Leave a Reply

