Thoughts on Today’s Gospel

While reading today’s gospel, I was immediately transported to my childhood.  When things would get really tough, or my mother would hear of very disturbing events on the news, she would say, ” I hope Jesus returns today!”  (referring to Judgment Day)  I would cry out, “No, mama.  I’m not ready yet.”  I’ve still got a lot of living to do, I thought to myself.

Now that I am a mother myself, I completely understand my mom’s plea for help!  She thought that raising good, moral kids in the 1970’s and 80’s was difficult.  Well, the dangers and temptations have been compounded (exponentially it seems) in the 2000’s!

I recently had a conversation with my oldest, who was lamenting about the moral state of many of the kids on college campuses.  They seem lost, confused and without faith or direction.  This disturbs him greatly.  He realizes the importance of being a witness with the life that he leads, but sometimes (in moments of despair) feels it nearly pointless, as it doesn’t SEEM to make a difference.

I was quick to remind him that we mustn’t give up hope.  If one life is touched by his example, or one seed planted, it has NOT been wasted. Even if no one is touched (and that is unlikely), at least Jesus has been honored by his life well led.   Christ is our hope and the consequences of living a life pleasing to Him are ETERNAL.

I was watching Oswald on Nick Jr. with my youngest this morning.  Oswald the octopus had captured a firefly in a jar.  He had heard that when you catch a firefly, you get one wish.  He was having great difficulty deciding on that one wish.  If I were granted one wish, it would be that all come to truly know the love of Christ in their hearts and live accordingly.  Can you imagine a world, realizing that it had been transformed by the love of Jesus, internalizing and living in that love?  Wow!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, faith, Faith & Children, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

