“Christmas With A Capital C”

Earlier today, I read an American Family Association article about Walgreen’s holiday ad.  I found this ironic, because I had just closely examined the Walgreen’s circular this morning, looking for bargains.  I am ashamed to say that I did not even notice the very thing that the AFA had highlighted – the fact that the entire ad did not mention the word “Christmas” once.  Everything was labeled with the benign “Holiday,”  and Christmas trees offered were called, “Pre-lit trees.”

So sad on two counts – #1 Thanksgiving has been all but overlooked, as Christmas merchandise has lined many a shelf since Halloween.  #2 Businesses have been trying for years (with some success) to take Jesus out of Christmas – His own birthday! This is just another example.

When a Walgreens executive was questioned about the ad, he replied that Walgreens did not want to offend non Christians this holiday season.  What about the Christian customers?  Do they not care if they offend us?  Are we not great enough in number or are we just not as vocal as the non Christians?

I saw the trailer for “Christmas With A Capital C.”  It looks like a great family movie that attempts to remind us all about the true meaning of Christmas.  I plan to purchase a copy for my family ( and perhaps my students) to see.  Maybe I should purchase an extra copy and mail it to the Walgreen’s executives!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Informational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Christmas With A Capital C”

  1. Mary Danna says:

    I hear you! That saddens me since I purchased some gifts from Walgreens. As a side note, I am a firm supporter of Little Debbie snacks because they always have Christmas tree cakes at Christmas time. I know they are terrible for you, but they sure taste good and they celebrate Christmas!

Leave a Reply

