Some of My Favorites

I love when my extended family gets together, and my two sisters in law begin rattling off famous movie lines.  The playful banter and amazing knack for remembering film quotes is incredible and VERY entertaining.  They seem to have seen all of the “greats” multiple times!  I think I lost interest in movies when I became too tired to stay awake for the duration of an hour and a half film!   Pretty sad, I know!

I’m the same way as my sisters in law- but with music – not movies.  Give me a couple of notes and I can “Name that Tune!!”  (I realize that I just gave away my age!)

On my drive home today, I heard one of my favorite old songs – a song that made me want to sing my heart out.  I have several like that.  When these come on the radio, I belt them out, and don’t even care who’s looking!

My sister and brother-in-law can attest to that.  One morning, on our mutual commutes to work, my in-laws traveled for several seconds on the side of my vehicle trying to attract my attention to wave,”Hi.” After their best efforts, they passed my car on the left, honked and waved excitedly, twisted in their seats.  They saw me having a “concert” in my car – rock and roll facial expressions and all – and my son in the backseat with a damp towel on his head to make the hair lay down.  I can only imagine what went through their minds!

Anyway, here’s some of my favorite song lyrics:

“Carry on, my wayward son.  They’ll be peace when you are done.  Lay your weary head to rest.  Don’t you cry no more!”  Kansas

“Everybody hurts sometimes.”  REM

“Even the best fall down sometimes.  Even the wrong words seem to rhyme.  Out of the doubt that fills my mind, I somehow find, You and I collide.” Howie Day

“I just want you to know who I am.”  Goo Goo Dolls

“It’s a beautiful day.  Don’t let it get away.  What you don’t have you don’t need it now…”  U2

“Desperate for changing. Starving for truth.  Closer to where I started chasing after you…I’m falling even more in love with you.  Letting go of all I’ve held onto. I’m standing here until you make me move.  I’m hanging by a moment here with you.” Lifehouse

“You are the best thing that’s ever been mine.”  Taylor Swift

“I’ve found all I’ve waited for, and I could not ask for more.”  Edwin McCain

“I’m already there.  Take a look around.  I’m the sunshine in your hair.  I’m the shadow on the ground…” Lonestar

“Isn’t anyone trying to find me? Won’t somebody come take me home? It’s a ____ cold night, trying to figure out this life.  Take me by the hand.  Take me somewhere new.  I don’t know who you are, but I’m with you.”  Avril Lavigne

I wonder what these say about me – They would probably make an interesting subject for psychoanalysis!  It’s been a bit of an “Avril” day today, if you know what I mean.

Tomorrow, I shall post my favorite lines to Christian music.  What are your favorite lyrics?  What do you think they say about you?

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

