Working Mother Struggles

One of my personal struggles with being such a busy working mom is not having a perfectly ordered house at all times.  It is something I desire, but have had to relinquish due to the demands of life.  I say I have relinquished it, but not 100%, because it still frustrates me from time to time.  My wise mother in law once told me, “One day your house will be beautiful – perfect – and empty.”  That’s a sobering thought!  We all know how fast our kids grow up, and how time seems to go faster the older we, as parents, get.

Another struggle I have as a tired momma is the guilt I sometimes feel for not allowing my kids to do lots of extracurricular activities like many of their friends.   I worry that they are missing out on an opportunity to develop an undiscovered gift or talent.  The other part says that I don’t want to spend what little free time I have with my family in a minivan going from practice, to class, to an event, to game, etc.  I have a rule that each child may only do one extra activity at a time – and sometime we completely take a rest from the extracurricular “circuit.”  I would rather spend our weekend pitching in to finish chores together so that we can play ball in the yard, go on a family outing, or visit extended family.  I don’t know if this is the best approach, but it’s mine.  Only time will tell if it was a smart decision or not.

There are many other concerns for which I wrestle mentally.  Having a three-day weekend every week would certainly solve some of our difficulties and relieve stress!

What are your greatest concerns or struggles as a working mom? (“Working mom” is a redundant title by the way – if you are a mom, you definitely work a lot- be it inside or outside of the home!)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Working Mother Struggles

  1. Julie Filby says:

    Appreciated this post! As a Catholic working mom, I too, live with a house that’s not in perfect order [far from it], fewer extracurricular activities and striving to try to make our family time together at home, quality time. If I could just get a little more sleep and spend a little more time in prayer, I think I’d be all set 🙂

  2. Even the lowest, the most humble office of a housekeeper who serves God and her family with all her heart, weighs more than the most brilliant, the finest and the best lecture of such a woman doctor, even if her speech is relayed through all the micro phones, taken down by all reporters and appears in all the daily newspapers. Such a woman is worthless up there than a mother who bears her daily cross, who brings up her children well, and who says “Yes” when a, child comes to her.
    When she bears everything patiently, does her work humbly, nurses, protects, raises and clothes her children, she is much higher in the eyes of that Gang of Three on High, [101] than a woman who wishes to be important. This saying could apply here: “Who ever humbles herself will be exalted, and whoever exalts her self will fly away like an arrow.” When a woman does not want to take upon herself the duties of a household and aims for grandeur, most of the time she will not be able to remain humble. All women who want to be exalted will be humbled in Heaven; all those who, on the other hand, humble themselves, are on the good road. They obtain for their families and for the people, many more graces than a woman who wants to shine.
    But at the same time, there is abortion, which is a consequence of pride. A woman does not want to play the part of the mother hen whose role is to bring up children; she wants to be, and to be seen to be, “something”. That is one of the reasons for which many children die through abortion. There are always mothers who are in great distress; they should be helped, by words and by deeds. They must bring their children to term, even if it is hard for them. They will receive blessings in return.

    If women were to stay by their stoves, in order to prepare good meals for their men, there would not he so many divorces as is the case now. If women were to fulfill their household tasks better and prepare a pleasanter home for their husbands, there would be fewer disagreements and separations.
    If men and women did not, live in free union, there would be many more partners endowed with a spirit of sacrifice and there would be far fewer homes breaking up. When, in their free union, they have forgotten what sacrifice is, and do not know how to practice self-denial, how do you think that they can lay the foundations for a family! In their eyes, marriage requires too many sacrifices and privations. But that is what it is, that is how it goes, and that is what it will always be.
    Among people who have lived for a long time in free union, and who have set up house with anyone at all, few will marry later. That is because it is hard for someone who has lived in this fashion for a long time to go back and correct himself or herself. Even if these people would change their way of life, it would be much harder for them to single out the good grapes and gather the fruit as they pleased, than it would be for someone who has lived normally and has not wandered from side to side.

    Motherhood is a gift, it is a ladder to heaven, a ladder made of beautiful crosses… 🙂

Leave a Reply

