Remaining True to Our Vocation


Being a mother is the hardest, yet most wonderful job I’ve ever had!  Only my children could bring me to such heights of joy and depths of utter anxiety.

I was just talking with a friend and neighbor.  We were sharing our recent struggles with trying to juggle the duties of motherhood and ministry.  (Both of us work in different capacities for the Archdiocese of New Orleans) Even though the ministry part is worthy and important, we must remember that God first called us to the vocation of marriage.  Whether our job is a ministry, something we do to express ourselves creatively, something we do to keep our sanity, or something we must do to help support our families, we should recall that God first called us to the sacrament of Holy Matrimony – and all that it entails.

It’s difficult when work requires more and more of our time.  It’s often very hard to say “No,” or to set limits – especially in these times when job stability in virtually non-existent.  Still, we must set boundaries to protect the time needed to fulfill family duties and to nurture our children.

The devil is very busy trying to wreck families – and in many ways, he has been successful.   We’ve got to carefully protect our family routines and special moments.  There must still be time for listening to each other and sharing the events of the day.  Bedtime stories and prayers must take precedent over reports, emails and paper grading.

It’s often very difficult to juggle responsibilities – we often feel as though we need a carbon copy of ourselves.  It is not a clone we need, however.  We need to re-focus on our first priority – our families.

As all mothers are keenly aware, our little ones grow up so fast.  Our time for greatest influence in our children’s lives is limited.  This job is too important to do half way.

I’ve sometimes thought that a vocation as a nun would have suited me better.   I could be really holy spending my days in silence, reflection, prayer and praise.  A vocation as a religious sister is noble for sure – and one path to holiness.  Marriage is an equally important calling from God.  It is the one through which all other vocations come. 

“There’s a time and season to every purpose under heaven.”  Ecclesiastes 3:1   We must realize that some of the things we want to do, and some of the things we feel we have to do all have a season.  If we are feeling totally overwhelmed, we must ask ourselves, “Is there anything I can give up for a time – until the right season?”  Am I allowing unnecessary anxiety to creep into my life and into my household through these added responsibilities I’ve accepted?

There is no doubt that being a working mother in 2011 is harder and more stressful than it has ever been.  As moms, we must keep our eyes on Christ, and remind ourselves of the importance of our vocation.  Our primary vocation should be just that – primary – first – taking precedent.  We can surely look to the Holy Family for much-needed direction and intercession!  They want our families to stay strong in faith and strong in bond, so that the next generation will be holier and happier in  service to the Lord!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, Marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Remaining True to Our Vocation

  1. Mary Danna says:

    Beautiful!!! One of my favorite posts you have ever written. Love you!

  2. Did you know that your vocation is my dream, to be a good Catholic Wife and Mother? but I am having a hard time finding a man who understands and practice the Theology of the Body just like Jason Evert. All of my ex-BFs wants premarital sex, and most guys today, thinks that oral sex is part of natural sex. It’s my frustration finding a good Catholic boyfriend. Please pray for me. Thanks!

    • danardoyle says:

      You bet that I will pray for you! Just pray, and trust that if it be God’s Will, you will find this holy guy. If God wants it, then He already has him picked out for you – it’s just a matter of God’s timing. I don’t have a lot of patience – a fault of mine. From my life’s experience though, I can tell you that anytime God has made me wait – sometimes for months – sometimes for years – His timing has always been perfect – and the gift well worth waiting for. Hang in there!

  3. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I haven’t commented for a while (though I read your posts via email!) Life has been so busy recently. But I always enjoy visiting your blog when I have a chance.

    I would like to pass on an “I Blog for Jesus” award to you. If you’d like to accept it, the details are on my grief blog: http://www.griefloveandhope.blogspot.com. I hope you will accept!

    God bless, Sue

    • danardoyle says:

      Oh Sue! I love blogging! It’s relaxing to me! My life has gotten so busy and just out of control lately that I can only get to my computer on weekends it seems. I am so hoping that things will slow down! How’s your book coming along? I really want to work on a big project like that again. I guess I’ll have to wait until summer. I will check out the “blog for Jesus” award thing. Miss you!

      • Sue Elvis says:

        I’ve missed catching up with your posts too, Dana! Yes, life is busy. I am so excited to see your book on Kindle! What is your next project? I’ve finished the first draft of my chjildren’s story. It will need a lot of editing but at least I have the whole story mapped out. It’s been great fun. God bless!

Leave a Reply

