Simple Foods

It’s 6:15 and I’m sitting down to relax for the first time since about 7:30 this morning.  It has been a beautiful but busy Saturday.  Oh, if only it were a three-day weekend!

As I’m writing this post, I’m munching on a warm piece of French bread slathered with real butter, and drinking water.  True to my French heritage, I could survive (and be satisfied) on bread, maybe a little piece of cheese and water – occasionally a nice glass of wine.  After grocery shopping today, I may have to live on bread and water.  Forget the cheese!  I wanted to purchase a block of cheese today, as a treat – nothing fancy, just cheddar.  It was $8.99.  I kept walking!

My children will have the most difficult time learning to eat more simply, if in fact, it comes to that.  Unfortunately, they are so picky.  They live on boxes and baggies of snacks as well as cereal.  Cereal has become a luxury item – especially if it’s name brand.

Maybe, we are being taught a lesson as a country.  There are so many places in the world where people go to bed hungry.  Other places don’t have the choices we do.  They live simply on rice, beans and goat milk.  We have been so spoiled to be able to open our refrigerators and pantries to a virtual market of choices.  Let us be grateful for the food choices and abundance of food we still have.  Let us also pray that food prices will level off (if not drop) SOON!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

