God Works

Yesterday, I had the privilege of watching God work.  A couple of weeks ago, I came across a sale on a devotional type book for women.  The book had lots of great reflections, scripture verses and beautiful pictures, so I picked up one for my prayer partner and one for myself.  Finally, this past Monday, I remembered to give the booklet to her.  When she received the book, she held it to her heart and kissed the cover.  My reaction was, “O.K. – nice book – but not THAT special!

She then told me about why the cover photograph had very special meaning for her.  Her father died of cancer exactly a year ago.  She and her father were very close. After his death and funeral, my prayer partner took part in a “healing” prayer service.  At that service, she released a Monarch butterfly, a symbol of letting go, and of her father’s resurrection in Christ.  She told me that she has never noticed as many Monarch butterflies here in Louisiana as she has since that special prayer service for healing.

Can you guess what was on the cover of the devotion booklet?  You’ve got it!  A big, brilliant Monarch butterfly!  Why did I pick that book over another?  Why did I put the book aside, and remember only to give it to her on the anniversary of her father’s death?  I believe that it was all part of God’s plan to bring comfort to my buddy – orchestrated through the work of His Holy Spirit. God is truly amazing!  He works in mysterious and remarkable ways!  It so comforting to know that our Father cares about such details of our lives.  He really does cherish His children.

To Him be the glory and honor forever and ever!  Amen.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

