A Truly Amazing Gift

This morning I was in the adoration chapel.  I knew that it was going to be a very busy day, so I needed to start off on the right foot – with some much-needed quiet and grace.  There in the spotlight of the bright morning sun stood a new figurine perched next to the tabernacle.  The statue was of a visibly pregnant Mary with one had on the womb, holding the Son of God.  This rendition of Mother Mary was truly beautiful and intriguing to me.

I found myself talking to Mary in my mind about my own experiences with pregnancy – suddenly I felt as though I could relate to her on a new, very human level.  As I gazed at the statue, I thought, “How wonderful – how miraculous it must have been to hold Jesus in her womb.”  Then it struck me (sitting there in front of the Blessed Sacrament) that we too are most blessed.  God humbled Himself to “share in our humanity,” by being born of the Virgin Mary.  Jesus enters into us – body, blood, soul and divinity –  each time we receive Holy Communion.  We hold Him close in our bodies in a way – perhaps nearly as intimately – as Mary did.

Jesus loves us so much that He died a horrible death for us.  His love is so complete, so transcending, that He continues to give ALL of Himself to each of us every time we approach the altar to receive Him.  What a truly amazing gift!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in adoration, Blessed Sacrament, Catholic, Catholicism, Inspirational, Prayer, pro life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Truly Amazing Gift

  1. I love your posts about the living rosary and our Mother Mary, keep it up and glorify God! Like you, i also want to be a Mother someday! Lots of Blessings for you and your family!!! 🙂 Anna

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you so much Anna for your kind comments. I will keep you in prayer. I really hope that you are blessed with children someday! Motherhood is the hardest, greatest job one could ever have – quite a blessing! God Bless you and yours!

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,
    I have never seen a statue of a pregnant Mary before. How beautiful! Whenever I was pregnant I used to think how special it was to receive Communion with my baby growing within me, for that baby to be so close to God.

Leave a Reply

