Beauty

This past weekend, while thumbing through the newspaper, I saw something that was just appalling to me!  It an advertisement for a sale – spray on tans and teeth whitening – a special “just in time for homecoming.”  The advertisement was aimed at teens preparing for the big dance!

What does this tell a young lady?  It is no longer good enough to shop for a fancy dress and get a special hairdo.  Now, in order to be really ready, one must make sure her skin is just the right shade, and that her teeth are white as snow!  Anything less is unacceptable.

I don’t want my teenage daughter to succumb to this kind of thinking.  I want her to know that she is beautiful on the inside and out – just the way that God made her.  I want her to know that inner beauty is so much more important than what’s on the outside, anyway.

With all of the wrinkle corrector, face peels, special creams, filler, tanning memberships, and laser treatments becoming so popular, what are we telling our daughters?  Are we telling them that they must be “perfect”  in order to be valued – to be loved – to be accepted?  Is this what we believe about ourselves?

Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes.  Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.  1 Peter 3: 3-4

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, Inspirational, miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

