If I Could Just Get Out of God’s Way

The good Lord created each of us out of pure love.  He created each of us with a plan.  The job assigned to each of us is one that only we can do.  God has gifted us with personality traits, aptitudes, gifts and talents that He wants us to discover and to hone.  These gifts have not been given to us simply to enjoy or for self gain.  They are there for us to use to further God’s Kingdom – to bring others to Him.

Are you using your gifts to their potential for God?  Have you thought about that?  More importantly, have you prayed about it lately?

I’ve been feeling a bit lost about how to proceed in certain areas of my life recently.  I sometimes feel as though I’m groping around in the dark or swimming in circles.   Answers have not been readily forthcoming.  Maybe I need to pray harder.

What does it mean to pray harder?  Does it mean to pray longer?  Does it mean to try to concentrate more on the words or to try to feel it more in my heart?   Does it mean to be quiet, and to listen – attempting to keep my mind free from distraction – I hope not, because that’s a tough one to accomplish!

Maybe God is trying to teach me perseverance in prayer.   I’m not good at that – the whole patience thing!  I’m guessing that until I “get good” at it, I will be tested.  You think I’d get with the program, right?  Darn.  I wish I weren’t so bull-headed.

I read recently that one is holy to the extent that he/she has emptied himself in order to be filled by God.  Oh, if I could only get out of God’s way! If I could just step aside and truly let Him have His way with me.

“May today there be peace within.

 May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.

 May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.

 May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you.

 May you be content knowing you are a child of God.

 Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love.

 It is there for each and every one of us.”

St. Thérèse de Lisieux

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, faith, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If I Could Just Get Out of God’s Way

  1. Beautiful St. Therese prayer, Dana…

Leave a Reply

