What to Do?

A couple of times in recent weeks, the question of boycotting businesses and corporations that support Planned Parenthood has come up.  It seemed simple to me  – just give me a list of companies that support abortion, and I will not give them my business – period.   In researching this complicated issue, the lists are so long and the involvement so widespread.  What is a person, in good conscience to do?

For example, even if you go to a fast food restaurant that has the reputation of being a “Christian business,” that establishment could sell a soda product that is on the “boycott list.”  Do I go, but only drink tea?  Do I tell my kids that they must do the same?  What about actors, actresses and musicians who are known to support abortion rights, do we not purchase their music/movies?  O.K. – what if you did not know this about them and you already own their music/movie?  Do you throw out the CD/DVD?  Do you turn the radio or television station?

Our federal tax dollars are misused and misappropriated to all kinds of wretched things I disapprove of – can I stop paying taxes?  No – not without jail time.  Is that in the best interest of my family?

We all know the kind of government China has – how human life has no value whatsoever there.  Is it possible to never purchase an item manufactured in China again?  Chinese products dominate our store shelves!

I figure that my job is to become as educated as I can.  When there is something that I need, and I have the choice of products – one made by a Planned Parenthood supporter, and one not – I should choose the one not.  When the product has no other options, and it’s something a family member needs, I have to purchase that item.  The real issue comes with the many “wants” we all have in life.  How can I make my children understand our convictions and why it is important to take a stand for the little ones who cannot speak for themselves?

This is such a tough issue!  How do you and your families deal with it?

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in pro life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

