Searching for Inspiration in Silence

Hi, everyone!  Lately, I’ve been feeling uninspired. We’re only 10 days into October, and I feel as though I’m drowning.  I believe there is a direct connection between lack of inspiration and the hectic pace of my life at the moment. We all experience this from time to time, don’t we?

Today, I was able to spend sometime at the Teresian Sisters’ Convent in Covington, as I organized a retreat for our sixth graders.  The property consists of several heavenly acres covered with trees.   In the center is  lovely little chapel with a large, beautiful crucifix and windows behind the altar that showcase the tall pine trees just on the other side.  It is a place of serenity.  The landscape it dotted by religious statues and park benches, surrounding a pond with turtles, fish and an occasional goose.

This morning – I kid you not – I had a “to do” list of about twenty things that had to be taken care of by 8 a.m. – part of my job – last minute details.  After “running a marathon” from 6 a.m to 8 a.m. I hopped in my car and headed to the convent, hoping that the natural surroundings there would infuse me with the sense of peace that I misplaced in the bedlam of the morning.

Everything on the radio just sounded like noise to me – conflicting and crashing with the busy thoughts in my head.  I decided to turn off the radio and plug in my rosary tape.  What a good decision!  I imagined that I had Mother Mary riding in the passenger seat of the car beside me.  At last I could breathe more easily.

One lingering side effect of the stress is itching.  Inexplicably, I sometimes itch.  Usually, its localized.  Today, It was all over – a truly maddening itch – something else to remove my focus from God -IF I let it!  I begged, “Lord, please take this from me.”  He definitely got my attention, didn’t He?

I find myself missing Him so much!  It seems almost too ludicrous a statement to make.  I know that God is always with me – within me even!  How much closer could one get to his/her Creator?

God never leaves our sides.  It is we who leave Him.  I’ve been mentally absent from Him, and I know it.  I’ve allowed life to get in the way of that precious communion with Him.  I feel the tug of His love for me, patiently but firmly calling me back – back from the activity, back from the commotion, back from the noise.

If I won the lottery, I believe that I would build a home with a room set apart from the other rooms of the house.  It would be sound proof, with a “do not disturb” sign on the door.  The walls would be bare, except for a picture of the Sacred Heart and perhaps the Holy Family.  It would have a plush, comfy couch, a book light and a kneeler.  There, I would “run away” to be with Jesus.

Until such a time this “dream room” becomes available, I guess I’ll have to use my trusty bathtub as a means of escape.  My time in the tub is sacred.  My family respects that space – probably because when I’m in there, I’m in my “birthday suit!”  Come to think of it, I haven’t had a nice, long bubble bath in a couple of weeks (I know what you are thinking – Yes, I have showered instead!)

Drained, depleted, dragging, uninspired… I think I’ll go run some bath water.  Jesus, here I come!

                                  photos of the Teresian Convent

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, gardening/nature, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Searching for Inspiration in Silence

  1. Dana, you would really enjoy a place up here called Madonna House (www.madonnahouse.org). It is one of the most peaceful places in the world. Beautiful photos, BTW.

  2. Where God Takes Me says:

    Hi Dana,
    I loved this post and share your appreciation for silence and solitude as facilitators for communing with God. I find mine in the Nevada High Desert but also dream of a sanctuary such as your prayer room!.

Leave a Reply

