Procession for Archbishop Hannan

Today, the beloved former archbishop of New Orleans, Philip Matthew Hannan was laid to rest in the sanctuary of St. Louis Cathedral.  In an impressive five mile procession, his body was moved from Notre Dame Seminary to the cathedral yesterday afternoon.  I traveled with a group of children from our school to join other children from across the archdiocese to line the streets where the procession was to pass.  I felt privileged to take part (in some small way) in this a historical moment. It was beautiful to see people of all backgrounds stand side by side on     S. Carrollton Avenue to pay their respects.

Hannan was the leader of the local church for most of my childhood.  He was a very educated and courageous man.  He was also humble, humorous and very charitable.  I loved the way that he seemed just as comfortable with the rich and famous as he was beside an injured soldier or homeless person.  He brought the light of Christ to everyone he met.

Eternal rest grant unto him, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon him. May the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, photo entry, photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

