Blessing or Bane?

To my technology loving friends, I will apologize up front.

Reporters headed off their broadcasts today with news of Steve Jobs death.  He has been credited with co founding “Apple” and inventing some of the electronic gadgets that our lives literally revolve around today – like the apple i phone.  He is being hailed as a man who has “changed the world” with his ideas.  I am saddened by the fact that a fellow human being has suffered for years with pancreatic cancer.  I’m saddened by the thought that he passed away at a young age.  I pray that God’s mercy may be his, and that he will enjoy the peace of heaven.

There is no doubt that Steve Jobs has changed the world with his invention…BUT have these modern-day inventions been a blessing, or a bane?  We’re raising a generation of kids who will not know how to write in standard English, to speak properly, or even to hold a conversation with another human being.  Texting and photo messaging have become the extent of many of our communications.  Much of the human factor in our exchanges have been replaced by wires and microchips.

We are also depriving ourselves of the opportunity to practice virtue – patience in particular.  With everything available to us at our fingertips in an instant, many of us no longer have the tolerance for waiting, truly listening, and for spiritual practices like spontaneous prayer and meditation. We often listen half- heartedly to our children with our ears on them but our eyes on our i phone.  The children learn what is important to us by our body language.

Technology time has taken over much of our already limited family time.  Family gatherings often consist of members perched upon sofas and chairs in a big “friendly” circle – totally oblivious of each other as each plays with his/her handheld device.  I’m not throwing stones.  I’m guilty of this as well. I don’t own a smart phone, but I am using technology right now to write this post!

Technology is great. I use it to read the daily mass readings, to listen to the saint of the day recording, to connect with old friends and to share my faith.  I also like being able to track down my teens easily!  This wonderful technology must have its place, however, or it has the power to destroy all that really matters to us now – and for all eternity!

Why does our society hail Mr. Jobs as a”world changer,” as though he were a miracle worker?  What about real heroes who give till it hurts, who’s lives show charity in action day in and day out?  These modern-day saints are really changing the world for the better– one precious, priceless soul at a time!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, Faith & Children, miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

