See You at the Pole

A few days ago, a coworker of mine told me that it was, “See You at the Pole” day.  I asked, “What are you talking about?”  She explained that in public schools all across America on September 28th, Christian students were encouraged to meet at the flagpole to unite in a (brief) time of prayer.  This morning of prayer was initiated by a group of Christian students in Burleson, Texas in the early 1990’s.  Since that time, the idea has caught on and has become popular nationally and even internationally.

Prior to last Wednesday, I had never heard of “See You at the Pole.”  After visiting their website, I had a few thoughts:

#1  I really admire the courage and motivation of these kids who took their right to freedom of religion and prayer and challenged those in authority.  There are so many things that we, as Christians, should be appalled by, and should fight for – these kids took things into their own hands – in a peaceful way.  What powerful witnesses!

#2  Wow!  I’ve really lived a privileged life.  Though my family never had the latest and the greatest of anything, I was given the supreme gift of receiving a Catholic, Christian education.  I was not only allowed to pray, but was encouraged to pray – and led in prayer multiple times a day.  Though I often took it for granted as a child, I now realize that this faith-filled environment was a tremendous gift!  I am so grateful to my parents for making the many sacrifices necessary to make Catholic education a large part of my life.

#3  Not only did I go to a Catholic schools, but I have been blessed by being able to earn a living working in Catholic schools.  Now, I have the chance to (hopefully) provide an even better spiritual and educational experience for my students than I had as a child. I know it’s a huge responsibility, but it’s also an enormous gift!

Praise God that we aren’t forced to meet at a pole once a year to pray together.   At our school, students, faculty and staff pray with and for each other daily.  When someone is hurting, we “wrap” that person in prayer and charity. Can you imagine what a different place our world would be if all its children could experience this kind of environment first hand?  I’m promising myself never to take it for granted again!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, faith, Faith & Children, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

