Perception Check

After an exhausting weekend, I set out to face the challenges of a new week feeling a bit depleted.  When I’m tired and haven’t taken care of myself, I tend to feel a bit cranky.  I’m sure you understand!

I tried to rewrite the tapes – or CD’s – that were playing again and again in my brain, coloring my perception of life a dismal gray.  Here’s how my thought process went as I drove to work this morning:

Negative mindset:

My kids were so active and chatty this weekend.  They exhausted me!

Grateful mindset:

Thank you God that my children are healthy.

Negative mindset:

The rattling in this old car is all I can hear.  It’s driving me crazy!

Grateful mindset:

Thank God that I have reliable transportation and a generous, kindhearted and talented mechanic.

Negative mindset:

I have sooo much work to do.  Ahhh!

Grateful mindset:

Thank God I have a job when so many are unemployed.

Negative mindset:

I accidentally dyed my middle right fingernail brown when using hair color with a faulty rubber glove this weekend.  My nail will look filthy for days!

Grateful mindset:

Thank God that my daughter has a drawer full of beautiful nail polish for which I was able to disguise my faux pas!

Negative mindset:

I cooked all weekend and washed several loads of dishes.  I’m done!

Grateful mindset:

Thank you, God, for providing us with food to eat, when many in the world will go to bed hungry tonight.

Once I arrived at work, I received a JOLT of sorts that immediately cleared away the rest of the gray clouds that I was holding onto mentally.  A faith filled mother who is mourning the death of her child (she lost her in late July) came to address our students today with messages of hope, God’s promises and God’s undying love.  After hearing her speak so eloquently – so beautifully –  my perspective changed completely.

I had lost focus!  I had let the worries of this world make me anxious.  I had taken my eyes off of Jesus.  This incredibly spirit filled, courageous woman was able to do what she did this morning because she is keeping her eyes on Jesus – never looking away – not even for a moment.

Are you feeling overwhelmed by the demands of life?  Give yourself a perception check, and cling to the words of one of my favorite saints, St. Theresa of Avila.

St. Teresa’s Bookmark

Let nothing trouble you, let nothing frighten you. 
All things are passing; God never changes.

Patience obtains all things.
 He who possesses God lacks nothing:
  God alone suffices.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Perception Check

  1. Great post, Dana! Love the St. Teresa of Avila quote…

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Lots to think about in your post, Dana. I wish it wasn’t only in times of suffering and need, that I never take my eyes off Jesus. I need to refocus regularly. So easy to slip away…

Leave a Reply

