Lessons from Ants

After school today, I was patiently waiting for my children to finish their visits with friends, so that we could head home.  I remembered a line of ants in the yard behind my classroom that had caught my attention yesterday.  I wondered if the ants were still hard at work, marching in formation, up and down a tree trunk.  I decided to go and see!

To my delight, they were still there!  I stood and watched for a few moments in total fascination.  I was struck by the ants’ perseverance and single-mindedness.  For over twenty- four hours they had marched in line carrying eggs and moving food to an unseen nest.  For all I know, they are still working right now!

I got to thinking how great it would be if we, as Christians had the focus and persistence of those ants.  If we could resist temptation and distraction…If we could stay focused on the ultimate goal – heaven…  If we could work together for a singular objective….If we could keep our eyes focused on Jesus alone.  If…If…If!  We could learn a lot from a simple, single, soldiering line of ants!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, gardening/nature, Inspirational, photo entry, photography, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lessons from Ants

  1. littlesoul2 says:

    I’m an ant watcher too : ) They are so fascinating! I love dropping some bread crumbs and watching them cart off huge (for them) chunks..dragging them along, and even helping each other. Yep, lessons to be learned from these tiny creatures!

Leave a Reply

