Eric & My Achy Feet

My husband is giving me a huge treat right now.  He got off of work a bit early.  I cooked, and we ate dinner.  Now he is doing the dishes and helping the kids with homework.  He told me, “Go do whatever you would like to do to relax.”  What an awesome gift!  I get to write in peace (for however long it lasts.)

My dear husband has never been very good at choosing gifts to delight me, but he has been wonderful in that he is truly my partner.  We share all of the responsibilities.  He has always changed diapers, helped with dishes, did laundry, assisted with homework – all without complaining.  As a working individual myself, his “roll up your sleeves and pitch in” attitude is worth more than any diamond bracelet or expensive gift that he could give me.

I also love that I can count on him for prayers.  If I’m having a difficult day, or have stumbled upon some problem, I can always call, text, or email him, and he prays for me right away.  What a blessing to have a partner with this level of faith, loyalty, commitment and love.

Off subject – Today was not one of those days where my enthusiasm flowed from within my being naturally – it was a bit of a challenge, as I had to muster it up!  By the end of the day, I was literally dragging, and my feet hurt badly.  Since my thoughtful husband called and volunteered to pick up our daughter from high school, this gave me a bit of free time I was not expecting.  I went to the shoe store, and tried on about twenty pair of shoes searching for the set that would be dressy enough for work and yet remain absolutely comfortable – and cushiony.

I got to thinking about the gospel readings as of late.  Jesus did lots and lots of walking from town to town healing people.   Men and women in His day wore leather sandals, similar to the flat ones I had on myself today.  I could not fathom having to walk several miles in them.  My “dogs were barking” from minimal walking and standing this warm and wonderful Tuesday!   How refreshing it must have been for Jesus to have his feet perfumed by Mary.  How good it must have felt for the apostles to have their dusty feet bathed by Jesus.

My husband was truly Jesus’ eyes and ears and hands and feet for me today!   I am so thankful!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Marriage, miscellaneous, Prayer, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eric & My Achy Feet

  1. Colleen says:

    Great post. What a wonderful hubby! And my feet often look that!! lol God bless!

  2. littlesoul2 says:

    Oh, I love this….had never thought before about Jesus enjoying having His feet washed and perfumed, as well as the gift of the same He gave to His apostles.

    And…your husband sounds amazing! We don’t praise our guys enough. My husband is so good to me too, and so often I take it for granted. Thanks, Dana!

  3. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,
    I loved your post. How much your husband must love you! The image of the yawning feet is wonderful. Yes, my feet feel like that sometimes. I have to have comfy feet: no high heels or tight shoes for me! I hope you found the perfect pair of shoes. Thank you for the reflection on Jesus and feet. What a gift Mary gave Him!

    • danardoyle says:

      I bought a ridiculously expensive pair of sandals – at least I thought so, considering sandals have very little leather – I’ve worn them every day this week since my big purchase! I guess you get what you pay for. Ahhhh!

Leave a Reply

