The Challenge – Today’s Readings September 4, 2011

The messages given to us by the prophet Ezekiel in today’s first reading and the message of Matthew’s gospel really screamed to me today!  I left mass feeling a bit unsettled.

One of the “spiritual works of mercy” is to “admonish the sinner.”  I don’t know about you, but I find that to be most difficult.  I’m not a confrontational person.  As a general rule, I don’t like to upset people.  Correcting someone who is not a child, no matter how kindly, requires stepping out of one’s comfort zone!

In the readings today; however, we are told that we will be held responsible for the loss of someone living in sin (to a greater or lesser degree) to the point that we attempt to lovingly inform that person of the Truth.  At the same time, I believe that we are to also make that person aware of God’s love and mercy.   If we speak the Truth, and it is rejected, then, we are no longer held responsible, BUT if we don’t speak the Truth, we are guilty of sin ourselves.  Wow!  What a challenge!

God, give us the courage to speak the Truth, even when it makes us highly unpopular.  Help us to be concerned not only with our own salvation, but the salvation of all our brothers in sisters in this world!  Help us to be beacons of Your undying light! Amen.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Challenge – Today’s Readings September 4, 2011

  1. pattyabr says:

    The priest at my mass interpreted the reading as to continue to love and forgive those who don’t see the truth. That was an interesting twist for me to hear. When I read the gospel without that interpretation I don’t think I would’ve seen that perspective.

Leave a Reply

