Who Am I?

When you introduce yourself to someone, or try to answer the question, “Who are you?” do you answer with tasks you perform or roles that you play?  Defining oneself can be difficult – OR it can be very simple.  If I were to answer the question, I might say, “I am a wife, a mother, a teacher, a writer, a gardener, a cook, a cleaner…” and the list goes on.  These activities,  tell a lot about what I do, not about who I am.

If I were to be involved in a terrible accident that left me paralyzed and unable to speak, I may no longer be able to hug my children, pack their lunches, teach, write, or dig a hole in the garden.  If I could no longer cook, clean, or teach, would I still have worth?  This world may tell me no, but my faith tells me,” Yes,” because I AM A CHILD OF GOD. So are YOU!

Therein lies our value and identity!  We may play several roles or wear many different hats in our lives, but our worth comes from the fact that God created each and every one of us out of LOVE.  Now that’s something worth celebrating!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Inspirational and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Am I?

  1. pattyabr says:

    The example you give is interesting. I am a provider for patients with spinal cord injuries and disorders. I had one of my long time patients in yesterday, he is only 3 years older than I and he thrives because he has a loving caregiver, now his spouse. Between the two of us we keep him going. He knows he is loved and he continues to live.

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana, I have been discussing how often others define us by our children, especially by the number of children we have.

    I AM A CHILD OF GOD – yes! The best definition of all. Great post!

Leave a Reply

