A Blessing in Disguise

This week has been a rough one!  My husband, who generously helps me with the children in the evenings, had to work late two nights in a row.  I had a meeting for work myself on Thursday night.  Our home air conditioner was struck by lightning (apparently,) and we were without  it for a couple of days.  Temperatures here in Louisiana have been in the mid to high nineties – and quite humid to boot!  Then, our 6 month old washing machine broke.  Of course laundry had begun to pile up, because we haven’t been home in the evenings to do the wash.  My eldest is on his way home from college as I’m writing this post with – you guessed it – a BIG hamper full of dirty clothes.  The repair man isn’t coming until Tuesday.

Strangely, we’re holding up pretty well.  My mental state is still fairly positive!  The broken air conditioner actually afforded us some time to visit my parents.  Though they live close by, we’ve been (entirely too) busy lately, and haven’t seen them much.  They allowed us to come sleep at their house in the height of the heat.  It was good to be able to reconnect with them if only briefly.

The following afternoon, I checked my youngest son out of school early, and we left to wait for the repairman.  It was stifling inside of our home, so we went out into the backyard to play.  We squirted each other with the hose.  I pushed him on the swing for the first time in months.  We also broke out the sidewalk chalk.  We began by drawing pictures on the patio cement, then my little man asked if we could color the stepping-stones.  We decorated the stones, then moved onto the St. Francis and St. Anthony statues!  Why not?  I have to admit that I haven’t played like a kid – and enjoyed it – in some time.  These were great blessings in the disguise of a huge problem.

God answered another prayer.  We were bracing for a large bill from the AC repairman, thinking that the whole unit may have had to be replaced.  By the grace of God, two parts were replaced for a much more feasible fee!  God is good.

Now, I’m onto praying about the washing machine!  As we take our loaded laundry baskets over to my mother in laws tomorrow, I ask God to help us out with this repair bill as well.  He knows what we can and can’t handle and has not let us go belly up yet!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Faith & Children, gardening/nature, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Blessing in Disguise

  1. Patty says:

    I too have had a difficult week. My mother who is 85 years old lashed out at me blaming me for all her difficulties. I cried she was so cruel in her anger. I know she doesn’t feel well and my sister and I have tried to be advocates for my parents who now live in assistive living. My father is 89 years old and is much more spry than my mother. I was thinking that they would move out toward me and I could be more helpful. Then something like this happens and my husband said they should stay where they are near my brother who is less attentive. Prayers would be welcome. thanks for your posts as always.

Leave a Reply

