A Bucket List?

My son called from college last night.  I always look forward to his phone calls, because my eldest has a great sense of humor, and can really tell a story so that you feel as though you have experienced it yourself.  Yesterday was his first day of classes for the fall semester.  When I asked how his day went, he told me a few funny things.  He told me about how he repeatedly swiped his meal card, and how it would not process. He really held up the line and eventually had to put back the food he had ordered!  It wasn’t at all funny in the moment, he assures me, but it sure was hilarious the way he related the incident.

He also told about a particular student in one of his history classes – a 90 something year old woman.  My son concluded that she was hard of hearing, because she kept asking, “What did he say?” referring to the instructor.  Her hands trembled continuously, and the poor woman kept dropping her pencil while trying to write notes in a notebook.  The young man sitting next to her patiently picked up the old woman’s pencil and handed it to her each time it hit the floor.  One of the young people asked her why she bothered taking a class at her age when she could be at home relaxing.  She said that earning her degree was one of the items on her “bucket list” – things she hoped to accomplish before “kicking the bucket.”  Upon hearing this woman’s story, I was in awe of her motivation and tenacity.  I really don’t think that I’d have the desire or the courage to do the same if I were in her shoes.

It got me thinking about a “bucket list.”  Granted, I’m only in my forties, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that the older you get, the faster time seems to fly.  What if I don’t have a bucket list?  Is it wrong not to have big dreams?  Is that a set up for a boring life?  Is boring bad?  Am I pushing myself enough?  Am I hindered by my fears?  Most importantly, am I fulfilling God’s plan for my life?

What would I like to accomplish in my time remaining?  What does God have in store for me?  Hmmm.

A Preliminary Bucket List:

#1 Get to heaven

#2 Help my loved ones and friends get to heaven

#3 See the Shrine of the Blessed Sacrament in Alabama

#4 Finish reading the Bible

#5 Travel to some places (especially those of natural beauty) that I’ve never been before.

#6 Become a published writer or paid photographer.

#7 Become a runner.

#8 Grow a lush garden that would actually feed my family and be visually pleasing.

#8 Overcome my fear of flying and go on a religious pilgrimage (maybe).

I don’t have a lot of big dreams.  My life is a simple one, and I kind of like it that way.  In fact, there are some days that I wish it would be even more simple – like living off of the land in the middle of nowhere!

Do you have a bucket list?  If so, I’d love to hear about some of your dreams are for the future!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bucket List?

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana, I wrote a comment and then it disappeared! So I shall try again. What did I say? I think I said I would like to be a runner too. I used to run years ago and I enjoyed flying along feeling free and thinking I could go on forever. Andy and I did some running last summer but I got fed up with running around the edges of the playing fields. It was hot too and involved a lot of effort and I got discouraged. But the dream of running again doesn’t quite die away.

    Oh yes, I wanted to know if you have already written a book, or if you have any ideas. What kind of book would you like to get published? I have come to the conclusion that ebook publication is the easiest and most convenient way to go. And more and more authors are turning in this direction.

    I’d like to travel too: a trip to England with the whole family to meet the relatives. A big dream because we certainly can’t afford it!

    Great post, Dana!

    • danardoyle says:

      I hope that I didn’t have anything to do with your comment disappearing. You always write such thoughtful responses! I think that it is so cool that you want to be a runner, too. We seem to have a lot in common. I know that I am really not built/made to be a runner, so it probably won’t ever happen, but don’t count me out yet!
      I have written an adult nonfiction book about being more intuned to God’s communications with us. I chronicle many of my own spiritual experiences and those of friends and family as real life examples. I have also written a child’s picture book (32 pg.) on dealing with the effects of sexual abuse. I have gotten lots of good feedback – some from publishers – but no deals. It’s o.k. God will bring these projects to fruition if and when He wills it. Most recently, I mailed off my work to Writer’s Edge. May be a smart move – maybe not – just praying about it. Have you published in e-book format? I’m curious to learn more about that.
      I hope that one day make it to England – Airfare for your big family would be killer! Pray about it – who knows?

Leave a Reply

